Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Which Rod and Reel for Newbie?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which Rod and Reel for Newbie?

Hi all
    I am new to angling and am currently in the process of buying my own gear instead of having to borrow my friend's stuff.

I'm a bit stuck on which rod and reel to buy, and wondered if anyone has any suggestions. There seem so many types - carp, match, float, feeder, quiver etc. I'm getting a bit confused!

I intend to fish rivers mainly, with the odd lake now and then. I want a rod that will allow me to use both floats and ledgers/feeders, and a reel that will work well in the same situations.

I visited my local shop yesterday and they suggested a Okuma reel which was about £30 and an avon rod which was about £60. This is about as much as I want to spend at the moment as I have other stuff to buy.

Any suggestions that you can give would be very much appreciated.

All the best.

Michael

you can get a okuma interceptor 30 bait runner which would allow you to float fish and ledger....£19.99 great value i have had one for 2 seasons without any hiccups....the rod i will leave to my more learned colleagues to sugest
    In darkness we do what we can
    In daylight we're oblivion

Comment

shakespeare match rod

and liek larry said

an okuma interceptor

this set up should cost you about £40

but the rod is good enough for silverfish and the odd carp up to 13lb cause thats the biggest carp ive had on this rod
      [COLOR="SeaGreen"]carp fisher!but its a bream![/COLOR]

Comment

Don't go to Argos! is a good tip, most of there rods my mates have brought have gone wrong or just can do a good job.