Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

First Carp!!!

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Carp!!!

I just had to share this with you all ...... I'm very new to this angling past time and really only started this summer. Last week my partner and I went to a proper venue rather than the canal. We caught a few between us ....... she landed a nice barbel (apparently!) and then lost a large carp that stole the rig off the end of the pole!!
    I had a few tench and roach, but nothing to brag about.

Yesterday, we decided to return to the venue ... Peatling Pools in Leicestershire, for another go. Set up on the middle lake and sat for a few hours. There were plenty of fish out there, but others were catching them. We decided to move to a small pool for a couple of hours before packing up.

We baited using sweetcorn (Mr. Tesco's finest at 17 pence a can!!) and stirred up some fish ..... so off we went fisning under a tree.

Anyway, I landed a good sized Carp followed by a Tench and then Partner landed what must have been a good 7 or 8 pound Mirror Carp from literally a foot off the bank soon followed by an even bigger one!! I then moved to a spot next to some weeds ......... and dragged a real big lad out. I can only guess the weight at a good 10 pounds.

We were so happy last night that our complete inexperience could bring such good results. Even the owner was impressed!!

All in all, a really good day and some cracking photo's to show off!!
    [FONT="Fixedsys"][COLOR="Blue"]Never drink river water ...... fish have sex in it .......[/COLOR][/FONT]