Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Hair Rigg...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Hair Rigg...

Could one of you knowledgable chaps or lasses on here explain to me the concept of using one the above,and what benefits you get...cus i am new to the modern game,and i keep coming accross the term.."Hair Rigg"..help me out chaps.

First developed for carp fishing,originaly tied useing a fine line tied to the shank of the hook to wich the bait was attatched,now usually tied with the hooklink useing the knotless knot.the principle is that the fish sucks in the bait and the bare hook,this often causes the hook to nick the fish causing it to bolt often hooking itself.the hair has a small loop on the end,this is pulled through the bait with the use of a baiting needle,a small stop is then passed thriugh the loop, and the bait pulled tight to this to stop it falling off.hope this helps its very easy to do but difficult to describe,if you cant follow this let me know and i will try to post a pic later.Regards Peter
    Take nothing but photographs,leave nothing but footprints.

Comment

try this

Comment

Ahh right now i get it..cheers Peter..so the method is usually used for ledering then m8,?or can they be used for float fishing aswell.

Comment

Running,semi fixed,freelined,float fished,on the suface with any bait you can think of.

Comment

has anybody got any bait stops or hair rigs i could have??

many thanks

Comment

You dont need bait stops, match anglers use spaghetti straight from the packet, just cut a small bit off the end. If you use the knotless knot you can tie your own using eyed hooks very easily.

Comment