Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Carping tips for a blanker

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Carping tips for a blanker

Afternoon all.
    Hitting a local water that is renowned for being tough.

I have been to commercials and had success on them with hair rigged pellets/meat/corn etc and was wondering how to tackle (pun intended) a very big lake with shy fish...

I am quite new to the sport but established enough to catch (about 7 months in).

I usually shower in a load of corn/meat and pellets in a spot and cast out my ledger in the area and wait for the bites which works quite well.

But this lake is going to be subjected to a full day session tomorrow and I HAVE to catch!

got some prepared hemp seeds, fishmeal, birdfood and strawberry boilies, 8mm hallibut pellets, spam, corn and bread.

Would anyone be able to offer any advice on bait presentation with these ingredients/products that could give me a fighting chance of getting these elusive carp munching on my hookbait

I would generally hair rig a chunk of meat or a pellet with a size 10 on. Casting as near the islands as possible. Using 12lb line and throwing handful of each bait on top of (or as near as possible to) the hookbait.

Thanks guys!

If it's hard, try tightening evrything up. i'd suggest a fishing the tea bag, pellet cone or method feeder. That way there will be small piles of bait with your hookbait right amongst the feed.

I'm not sure how big the carp go but 6lb reel line, 0.18 hooklength and a 14-16 hook should be ample for fish upto 10lb.

Comment

Method feeder maybe an option, not tried it yet...

Theres carp up to 25lb+ in there somewhere but mid to high teens are the norm (when they are caught!).