Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Are newer methods of fishing unnecessarily over complicated?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Are newer methods of fishing unnecessarily over complicated?

I just wondered what your opinions were on newer methods of fishing vs more traditional methods and whether advances have actually altered anything. I ask the question as I am very new to fishing and go with my Dad who has been fishing for over 50 years. Being new to it I have bought all manner of magazines/books and done endless research to attempt to get the most success out of fishing. However, my Dad keeps everything very simple. Generally he only float fishes with a straight forward hook and tends to use only maggots or sweetcorn as bait. I however have been experimenting with such things as hair rigs, lassoo's, using pellets/boilies etc. Dad has a very sceptical opinion on this.