Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Absolute beginner needs some advice...

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Absolute beginner needs some advice...

I hope I have posted this in the correct place...

As I said in my introduction (HERE) I am an absolute beginner and now after a week of online study I am an expert! I have seen the Matt Hayes Videos... I now understand that to be a good fisherman I have to go and buy the most expensive clothing, and the correct colour rod with matching real...

All joking aside, from nothing the stuff I have been reading/watching has answered some of my very basic questions and I think I could manage to get the rod 'tackled up' (is that the correct terminology?) to do a spot of float fishing, which is where I would like to start.

I now need to go and buy some gear. This is where I really could do with some advise. Somebody said I should start with a 'starter set'. This sound reasonable to me as I have absolutely nothing in the way of kit. But is this really the best way to go. Although I do not want to spend a fortune, I am not averse to spending a little bit more than these sets seem to be price at. Can a set like THIS one from Argos really do what I want it to or would I be better spending a bit more money. If so what brands should I be looking at?

I have compiled a list of the basic stuff I think I need as follows:

Rod 13ft (? ) - no idea what to buy
    Reel - again, no idea what to buy
    Selection of floats
    Split shot
    Thing for releasing the hook from the fish (de-gouger?)
    Pre-tied hooks with 3.5lb
    4lb Fishing line
    A landing net
    A keep net (maybe?)
    an unhooking mat
    Plummet
    tackle box