Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Am i doing something wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Am i doing something wrong?

Hi guys. I have recently bought a Middy White Knuckle margin pole. I am new to pole fishing and I went fishing the other day to Wassel Grove Fisheries near Halesowen. I tried my new pole out and I caught a 3lb mirror carp, a 2lb f1 carp* and about 11 roach of various sizes. I was using a ready made rig with 7lb mainline and 5.6lb hooklength. I was having lots of bites and I got them on but some of them got off while i was pulling it in. This was frustrating and i want to know what happened. Any advice?

*For those who don't know, an f1 carp is a roach/carp hybrid. They are smaller but still fight like a proper carp. They are also less likely to get K.H.V (Koi Herpes Virus)
    Last edited by pellet waggler guy; 1 August 2009, 06:41 PM.

Originally posted by pellet waggler guy View Post
    *For those who don't know, an f1 carp is a roach/carp hybrid.
    Really?

http://www.talkangling.co.uk/upload/...arp_f1_f2.html

Comment

Hi guys. I have recently bought a Middy White Knuckle margin pole. I am new to pole fishing and I went fishing the other day to Wassel Grove Fisheries near Halesowen. I tried my new pole out and I caught a 3lb mirror carp, a 2lb f1 carp* and about 11 roach of various sizes. I was using a ready made rig with 7lb mainline and 5.6lb hooklength. I was having lots of bites and I got them on but some of them got off while i was pulling it in. This was frustrating and i want to know what happened. Any advice?

*For those who don't know, an f1 carp is a roach/carp hybrid. They are smaller but still fight like a proper carp. They are also less likely to get K.H.V (Koi Herpes Virus)