Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Feeder Rod

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Feeder Rod

?What kind of rod do you prefer for method feeder fishing,and what length? Thanks!
    I am a bit of a novice with the feeder and need some pointers to get me going..?is this the wrong time of year fer fishing the feeder.

11ft works best for me but it kind of depends on the length of cast you need, the likely size of fish and the size of feeder and so on! I have a couple of Daiwa 'Connoisseur X' feeder rods which have a removable 2ft section so that they can be either 11ft or 13ft. These are brilliant rods and will easily cover most types of feeder fishing. At the longer length they will be ideal for long chucks on a big Bream water and at the shorter length I find they are perfect for most short to medium casts on our commercial venues. They will handle pretty much any fish from 8oz up to double figure Carp.

I wouldn't say that this is the wrong time of year for the feeder but it really depends on the type of venue you're thinking of. I'm off to fish a match tomorrow and I'll be using a small pellet feeder for some of the time at least.

Graham
    [SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Comment

You don't have to spend a fortune on a method rod Garbolino do them for around £24, called a rocket picker I think???
      With the temp falling now it's more usual to fish a bomb Into deeper water. Length depends on the distance, most of today's commies are short casts so between 9 and 11 feet long is ok.

Hope this helps
      Last edited by Buster; 25 October 2010, 10:25 PM.

Comment

Ihave just purchased a 9ft and a 10ft Rocket picker £49 for the 2
        For the money they are ideal for stillwaters
        at a price that you can afford to abuse !!