Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Advice Needed - Pole Fisherman wanting to add Rod Fishing to his Match Setup - Help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Advice Needed - Pole Fisherman wanting to add Rod Fishing to his Match Setup - Help

Hello All.

I have posted a similar post in the tackle advice section.....

I need a little advice on the Rod / Reel selection, types etc. Treat me as a complete novice on this. I was bought up on the pole and used it all my fishing life. I used a pellet wagler rod and small shimano reel I received last year (a raffle prize), enjoyed it and with a bit of advice from youtube and a lucky peg I won a match....

I would like to learn the different ways of Rod / Reel fishing. Can you help me with...
    • What are the different types of rod fishing I should be looking at?
    • Can I use one rod / reel to do all these, or do I need seperate setups?
    • Why there are different rod lengths, reel types etc?

The match pools I fish are commercials with fish average of 5-7lbs but have the odd larger lump of 12-14lb.

Could someone suggest a setup for that situation, It was my birthday recently and I have some fishing vouchers burning a hole in my pocket....
    I know a lot of fishing gear choices are restricted by budget, I don't want cheap stuff that is useless, nor very expensive, so something in the middle. Hoping to buy something this weekend to then try giving it a go before the match season starts.

I am asking the forum for help on this, as fellow fishing club members don't seem to be bothered helping me out.

Thanks in advance to all advice given....

Basiclly Waggler rod 11/12ft
    feeder rod 10/11ft
    these will cover your needs on most commercial fisheries