Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Pole help, advice

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Pole help, advice

Hi All,
    I’m looking for some advice on what pole to get, my budget is around £500, Now i have to admit i have never pole fished before, even though i have been fishing for over 30 years i am a little slow to embrace new technology from what I have read it seems that I would be better going for a second hand pole as you would get a much better pole for your money, now I am certain that there are many pit falls to this that’s why I thought I would ask the fishing collective to help me out

Many thanks

Hi Grant
    You certainly haven't rushed into pole fishing have you ;-)
    £500 would get you a good quality used pole, just what you need. For what it's worth I would suggest the following -
    > stick to the major brands! Daiwa, Shimano, Sensas Preston and Tricast
    > get at least 14.5 metres, you may never fish that long but the balance is improved by having pole behind and in front, especially when you new to pole fishing
    > try to have at least 4/5 top kits plus a cupping kit, all the same length too
    > invest in baby wet wipes and use them every time to wipe your pole down at the end of the day! keeps it super clean and makes it go together and apart easily
    > always use at least 1 roller to improve your fishing and take care of the pole

That's it from me , hope it helps

Comment