Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

What went wrong?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What went wrong?

I'm fairly new to fishing and I recently went pleasure fishing at my local Clay Pool and surprisingly hit another blank. I've fished there so many times and this was the 4th blank on the trot. Can you let me know what I did wrong? Thanks.

Target Species:
    Tench
    Bream
    Crusian Carp

Tackle setup:
    16m Pole
    Size 10 Main Elastic (There are several Common & Mirror carp 15lb+ here)
    5lb Mainline
    Maver Elite S2 0.5gr Pole Float
    "Shirt-Button" shot pattern
    Micro-Swivel
    4lb Hooklink
    Kamasan Size 14 Animal Hook

Bait:
    1/2 a grain of Sweetcorn for hookbait
    Individual Sweetcorn grains for loose-feed
    Dynamite's Corn & Hemp Groundbait

Depth:
    7ft Main Swim
    4ft Margins

I'd done everything by the board - Little-and-often baiting (3-4 pieces of sweetcorn every 10-15 seconds, matched my Groundbait with a hookbait (Dynamite's Corn & Hemp with single pieces of corn for loose feed and single corn for hookbait), from experience I know these fish are really coy and are spooked at the sound of a cast from a rod and reel so a pole was essential, fishing all sections of my 16m pole next to some reeds near an island for my main swim and fed up the margins with the same bait. "Slapping" my bait every 4-6 casts.

I'd seen people fish from the swim before and catch, so 4 hours in without a sniff I was really scratching my head. Troubleshooting the situation I tried several techniques to hopefully bring about anything. I did have bites after I took the swivel off and replaced it with a loop-to-loop knot. I even sharpened my hook.