Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

Spare pole? or any other tackle?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Spare pole? or any other tackle?

As I am a beginner to fishing I have mainly fished in the local canal. I have heard that a pole is the best method of fishing in canals, my twin brother and I would be very greatful if someone had one that they were willing to give away. In addition it would be great if anyone had any spare hooks or floats lying around that they do not want.

Thanks, Ant

what a joke

the amount of money that people spend on poles you wont get one for free, you can go out and buy a cheap and crap 4/5m margin pole for around £20 but for people that spend there money on poles such as 13m and up you wont get one for free people may be willing to give a way some hooks and whatever but not pole !!!

Comment

ok mate .. How much money would it be for a decent pole then ?

Comment

decent pole around 300 mate

Comment

depends on peoples definition of decent.

you can get a perfectly 'good' pole for £40, if you dont mind having something old.
          ive got a preston lerc, 11mtrs which cost me 40 quid. it handles and lands fish just lovely!
          for lighter work i have an even older dam exquisite 12.5m, £40 again with 2 top kits. light and stiff upto 10 mtrs and plenty good enough for my local canal.

i can assure you that technology has not moved on the same as the mags and tackle tarts would have you believe. a lot of the older gear is as good or better than most things made today because things were made upto a standard rather than down to a price!

this of course is only my opinion

thats not to say your gonna get one free of charge mate, but its not as bad as you think.