Announcement

Collapse

Not logged in, registered users

If you are fed up with seeing lots of adverts on Talk Angling, the way to get rid of them is REGISTER HERE as a member and then 95% of the adverts on the site will go away!
See more
See less

hello - please answer fishing question about art

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• hello - please answer fishing question about art

Hello,

My name is Keith Springer and I am an amateur art collector and curator of marine oil paintings. I would be most appreciative if anyone would be prepared to help me by giving their opinion about a painting, to do with fishing, by voting here online.

My question is explained below. I have posted the painting for you to see, just go to this web address to see it:

http://home.fuse.net/keith.s/Boat.html

Here is my question.

It is the painting at the far left in question, the big bottom left panel that says "what are these men doing". The painting is from the year 1885, of a river in France near the city of Rouen. It is an authentic impressionist painting made back then, and so the artist has painted a real river boating scene realistically in front of him, with broad brush strokes.

Two of us curators have two different opinions (me and a person in France) about, in the painting, what the two men are doing.

One of us thinks that the men are fishing. As evidence for that idea, the top left panel is created and altered today with an added fishing rod and an added fish in the mens' hands, to show how their bodies conform to that idea. In addition, all the little pictures on the right are by the same artist, different paintings of his over several years, and at far right we see that indeed the artist often painted two men fishing in a boat.

But, in the large painting at bottom left labeled "what are these two men doing", one of us thinks that the two men are not fishing, and instead are just returning from a paddling trip in a boat, the one on the left paddling in.